SurroundByUs.com

A Stereo-to-Surround Community
It is currently Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:19 am
  • No posting regarding file sharing of copyrighted material is allowed
  • AudioMuxer is here
  • Spec and SpecWeb are here
 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


The tools and techniques described and provided on this forum are intended for use on material owned by users and for their personal use as covered by "fair use" and other applicable copyright laws. The owners and moderators of this forum do not suggest or condone any violation of copyright or other applicable laws. Any use of these methods outside this forum in a manner which violates "fair use" or copyright is done so at the individual's own peril and is not the responsibility of surroundbyus.com. All Methods and Guides are Copyrighted © SurroundByUs.com. Overall forum rules can be read HERE.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:26 pm 
Offline
Surround Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 18
Ok. I picked up copies of Vortexzoom and imgburn. What part of the process do I use these?

I also got a copy of R8Brain. Not sure how to use it.

I have gotten confused yet again. Will go back through the stuff and see if I can figure it out.

A checklist or how to do things would be really nice..... So I can just follow along and do the steps.
Making progress but it is slow.

So I need what all programs and how do I get them into Plogue or what order do I use them?

Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:26 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 282
Warnhack wrote:
Ok. I picked up copies of Vortexzoom and imgburn. What part of the process do I use these?

I also got a copy of R8Brain. Not sure how to use it.

I have gotten confused yet again. Will go back through the stuff and see if I can figure it out.

A checklist or how to do things would be really nice..... So I can just follow along and do the steps.
Making progress but it is slow.

So I need what all programs and how do I get them into Plogue or what order do I use them?

Thanks again.


Vortexzoom is used for DTS encoding, so that would occur after you're done with Plogue and are reading to create a dts wav. ImgBurn is simply a freeware burning program, but one I prefer greatly to stuff like Nero.

R8Brain is a resampler, so you'd do this if you were up/downsampling any audio files. Again, not in Plogue.

Hang in there. It will be second nature soon enough....well, relatively soon enough. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:20 pm 
Offline
Surround Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 18
I was looking through the Plogue basic guide and it was talking about adding VST's and there were a boatload listed. Which VST's do we need?

It also said "This article should help you get through your first conversion.......your job is simply to load a source in the Audio File Player and follow the specific instructions of this method."

Where can I find the specific instructions?

Going to go back through all the answers to my post and see if I can find something..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:45 am 
Offline
Trusted User

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:43 pm
Posts: 69
Very Simplified:
Pick the music you want to use as one combined .wav file and setup a cue sheet to load into ZAG.
Open the .wav file of your music with the file player in the layout
Select the method you think sounds best (ArcTan, SLICE, etc) and tweak the settings until you are happy while live monitoring.
When you are satisfied with the way it sounds, enable ZAG (processing on), set up the file recorder, check offline processing in the Edit menu (it will go faster) start the file player and click the off button at the top to on and it's on it's way.

For now I would disable processing on any VST's, free mastering, etc until you know or think you know what you are doing/need any of that stuff. I seldom use VST's of any kind for the most part.
Just dig into it and keep trying. We all had to figure it out at some point but once you get over the hump it's really not hard at all.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:51 am 
Offline
Surround Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 18
I only have one music CD so that part was easy.
Made a Cue sheet.
I didn't do offline processing.

Didn't quite understand the "click the off button at the top to on and ..."

I know very well I don't know what I am doing.

I got it started and had to add speakers so I could monitor it... That wasn't in the layout that was supplies.
My output sucked. Slow spot, loud spots, quiet spots, dragging spots. I think my computer is not strong enough to handle this.
I am using Vista on a 3.2 ghz machine, but with only 2 gigs of memory. It's slow.... The output sounds was terrible. I am playing one of the tracks right now and it sounds fine.

Ok. I think I have part of a handle up to the point of what do I do with the 6 channel files?? How do I combine them into 1 file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:43 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
Warnhack wrote:
I only have one music CD so that part was easy.
Made a Cue sheet.
I didn't do offline processing.

Offline processing allows you to process at a higher sample rate and higher quality FFT size and overlap settings (Plogue --> Prefrences --> DSP) than you could do "online". Offline, plogue doesn't have to keep up with whatever sample rate you are using in real time. Offline you won't hear any output from your audio device.

The idea is to set things "online" by listening, then go "offline" to run through the entire album twice. Once with Zag set to "measure levels" and the recorder not recording anything, then again with ZAG set to "Apply Gains" and the recorder set up to record your six monos.

Warnhack wrote:
Didn't quite understand the "click the off button at the top to on and ..."

I know very well I don't know what I am doing.


There's an On Off button at the top right of Plogue. This controls whether plogue is processing or not. You turn it off when your not doing anything and on when you are. Simple. You computer will use much less CPU power when plogue processing is off. So, if you have plogue running but not doing anything while you use, EAC, imgburn, or whatever, you can turn processing off.

Warnhack wrote:
I got it started and had to add speakers so I could monitor it... That wasn't in the layout that was supplies.
My output sucked. Slow spot, loud spots, quiet spots, dragging spots. I think my computer is not strong enough to handle this.
I am using Vista on a 3.2 ghz machine, but with only 2 gigs of memory. It's slow.... The output sounds was terrible. I am playing one of the tracks right now and it sounds fine.


We don't include an audio device in the layout because we don't know what audio device you will have and we may not have the same one available in anycase. Easy enough for you to add it.

If your computer is not fast enough (although it should be at 3.1 GHz) you have two choices:

1) process "offline", as described above. And put up with glitching etc. while listening to make your settings "online".

2) In Plogue, go to Edit --> Prefrences --> DSP tab and lower the FFT size and/or overlap. I run at FFT size 8192 Overlap 16. Try reducing the overlap to 8 or 4 (overlap will have the most effect on DSP load) and if you still have trouble reduce the FFT size to 4096. At the bottom of Plogue there is a DSP meter. When you are online this will show a percentage number for each CPU core in your system. Plogue can really only use one core (sadly), so there will only be one number that changes. You need that number to be under ~80% to processes without problems. When "offline" the number doesn't really tell you anything useful. All of these reductions in settings = reduction in quality of results.


Warnhack wrote:
Ok. I think I have part of a handle up to the point of what do I do with the 6 channel files?? How do I combine them into 1 file.


You "encode" them to one file with a DTS encoder. Let's assume you have the vortex SURROUND encoder.

1) Open vortex surround encoder

2) Open the folder with the six mono files in it

3) select all six files at once and drag them into the vortex surround encoder. You should see that the mono files named 0 through 5 have loaded and are mapped to channels 1 through 6. Don't use the transport window for anything (don't try to press play).

4) Press the "export file" button.

5) On the "Chose export codec" drop down, choose "Digital Theater Systems (DTS)"

6) Press OK and save your dts file (as a .wav file). You now have a 2 channel wave file that contains the DTS encoded 5.1 channels.

7) Edit your cue file, with notepad, so that the FILE tag now points to your DTS wave file, instead of the stereo source. No you can burn your DTS to a CD using the cue file and imgburn, or you can play it on your computer using the cue file and foobar (with the DTS decoder plugin).

That's it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:10 pm 
Offline
Surround Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 18
>1) Open vortex surround encoder

>2) Open the folder with the six mono files in it

I got sort of lost some where in this process. I did the same time the 2nd that I thought I did the first, but I must have missed a step because on the 2nd time I sent it through plogue I didn't get the 6 track files.

Where did I go wrong? If I remember correctly there is a place you put in the name of the song to use (the main .wav file) and then it process and outputs the 6 mono files. I think this is correct. But I don't remember where to put the file name in to which module. If that make sense.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:26 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
In order for the recorder to record you have to give it a file name. Once you do that, it well record every time you press play, in the audio file player.

So, you either don't put a name in there during the "measure levels" step, or if you already did you can just let it record or double click on the "Layout Control" bidule and set recording to "off" (instead of "Arm Recorder"). Of course, you'll want to put it back to "Arm Recorder" when you are ready for the "Apply Gains" step.

To put the file name in the recorder, double click on "Zmeter & Recorder" and then click the button with the three dots in it. That will let you enter a file name. I usually just use "OUT" as a file name but it's up to you.

That would give you six mono wav files like this:

OUT_0001_0.wav

Where 0001 is the "take" number (how many times you have recorded) and _0 is the channel number (0 through 5; LF, RF, C, LFE, LS, RS).

Again, the "simple" layout might be easier for you to start with. No ZAG, no "measure levels" then "Apply Gains", no cue file, no VSTs.

The name of that layout is SPEC4.8-Simple.bidule

You can come back to the one with ZAG after you build confidence/experience with the simple version.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 9:37 pm 
Offline
Surround Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 18
>7) Edit your cue file, with notepad, so that the FILE tag now points to your DTS wave file, instead of the stereo source. No you can burn your DTS to a CD using the >cue file and imgburn, or you can play it on your computer using the cue file and foobar (with the DTS decoder plugin).


I have the cue file (I think it is correct)

REM GENRE Country
REM DATE 2005
REM DISCID BE0CAA0E
REM COMMENT "ExactAudioCopy v1.0b3"
PERFORMER "Carrie Underwood"
TITLE "Some Hearts"
FILE "Carrie Underwood - Some Hearts.wav" WAVE
TRACK 01 AUDIO
TITLE "Wasted"
PERFORMER "Carrie Underwood"

What would I edit and how would it look???


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:44 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
You would change:

FILE "Carrie Underwood - Some Hearts.wav" WAVE

So that it says something like this:

FILE "Carrie Underwood - Some Hearts-DTS.wav" WAVE

or whatever you call your DTS wave file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP POWERED_BY