SurroundByUs.com

A Stereo-to-Surround Community
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:25 am
  • No posting regarding file sharing of copyrighted material is allowed
  • AudioMuxer is here
  • Spec and SpecWeb are here
 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


The tools and techniques described and provided on this forum are intended for use on material owned by users and for their personal use as covered by "fair use" and other applicable copyright laws. The owners and moderators of this forum do not suggest or condone any violation of copyright or other applicable laws. Any use of these methods outside this forum in a manner which violates "fair use" or copyright is done so at the individual's own peril and is not the responsibility of surroundbyus.com. All Methods and Guides are Copyrighted © SurroundByUs.com. Overall forum rules can be read HERE.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:03 am 
Offline
Surround Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 18
Ok. So I got everything set. All the track file play.

Problem. I used VSEncoder and all I got on the combined file was static. I didn't realize that until I burned the CD... Nothing but static, so I checked the DTS file and static... The 6 track files are good.

Any ideas what went wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:17 am 
Offline
Surroundaholic

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:16 am
Posts: 52
Yeah, your AVR can't play DTS...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:34 am 
Offline
Trusted User

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:43 pm
Posts: 69
Warnhack wrote:
Ok. So I got everything set. All the track file play.

Problem. I used VSEncoder and all I got on the combined file was static. I didn't realize that until I burned the CD... Nothing but static, so I checked the DTS file and static... The 6 track files are good.

Any ideas what went wrong?

Have you ever played a DTS CD on your HT system? or any kind of surround sound, like music or in a movie? What is your playback device?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:18 am 
Offline
Surround Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 18
AVR? Was using my computer to listen to it. The same CD player that I recorded it on.

What is HT? I am new to all of this..

My computer has surround sound on it. It has a DVD burner and a sound card that will do 5.1.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:14 am 
Offline
Trusted User

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:43 pm
Posts: 69
Warnhack wrote:
AVR? Was using my computer to listen to it. The same CD player that I recorded it on.

What is HT? I am new to all of this..

My computer has surround sound on it. It has a DVD burner and a sound card that will do 5.1.

OK. when you said CD I assumed you were playing it on your Home Theater system, or stereo, or whatever you want to call it.
Why don't you try playback with a software player like Foobar? You will need to add the DTS component for DTS encoded playback. When you are all setup just load the DTS wav file you created and see if it plays. If all you get is a loud hissing noise then you haven't got the DTS component loaded.
Go here to get Foobar: http://www.spam then go to the components page on the same site and get the DTS decoder 0.3.0 , unzip it, and place it in the Foobar/components folder in the installation drive.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:23 pm 
Offline
Surround Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 18
Was trying in on my computer where I burned it.

Got the foobar plugin and it works great....

Only problem is that my recording goes up and down. Higher and lower sounds. I think my system just sucks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:41 pm 
Offline
Surroundaholic

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:16 am
Posts: 52
Warnhack wrote:
AVR? Was using my computer to listen to it. The same CD player that I recorded it on.

.

AVR stands for Audio Video Receiver, but since you play on your PC that doesn't apply to you. Sorry to have confused you.

You're in good hands with Zeerround, so good luck.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:12 pm 
Offline
Surround Enthusiast

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:54 am
Posts: 18
I thought it was Audio Visual Recorder but that didn't sound right. Didn't confuse me really, just wasn't sure what it was.

Seems my 5.1 surround sound house system does not recognize DTS.... Just static.

It's several years old anyway.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:28 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
Warnhack wrote:
I thought it was Audio Visual Recorder but that didn't sound right. Didn't confuse me really, just wasn't sure what it was.

Seems my 5.1 surround sound house system does not recognize DTS.... Just static.

It's several years old anyway.


You have to make an optical (or hdmi) connection. Do you have a DVD or Blu-Ray player? If so (and it's connected via Optical or coax digital or hdmi) try your DTS cd in there.

In some cases you have to tell the BluRay or DVD Player to bitstream 44.1Khz DTS.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Stereo to 5.1 or 7.1
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:16 am 
Offline
Trusted User

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:43 pm
Posts: 69
Right on with the digital connection. Some players will actually decode DTS and for that you can use spam connections to your AVR. Otherwise like Z said you will need a coax or toslink or hdmi connection so your AVR can decode. Any AVR made in the last 10 years or so SHOULD decode DTS -but you never know until you try or read the manual.

Glad Foobar works for you. If the volume is going up and down that's weird, just about any pc should have enough power. Might be something wasn't set right in SPEC, or ZAG was disabled?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP POWERED_BY