SurroundByUs.com

A Stereo-to-Surround Community
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:40 pm
  • No posting regarding file sharing of copyrighted material is allowed
  • AudioMuxer is here
  • Spec and SpecWeb are here
 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


The tools and techniques described and provided on this forum are intended for use on material owned by users and for their personal use as covered by "fair use" and other applicable copyright laws. The owners and moderators of this forum do not suggest or condone any violation of copyright or other applicable laws. Any use of these methods outside this forum in a manner which violates "fair use" or copyright is done so at the individual's own peril and is not the responsibility of surroundbyus.com. All Methods and Guides are Copyrighted © SurroundByUs.com. Overall forum rules can be read HERE.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 5:35 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:40 am
Posts: 38
jorgeluiz wrote:
Fantasia wrote:
For myself I prefer DVDA.
i understand that you have DVD-A player or use in pc with Foobar or ShaPLAY.


spam Pioneer DVD(A)/SACD player.

Quote:
Fantasia wrote:
I needed stereo DTS when I put all the 16 remastered stereo Beatles albums on one DVD5 in DTS 2.0 (768).
Had about 300 MB spare on it............. so :lol: back to you ! :)
DTS in DVD5 need upsample from 44.1 to 48....
Beatles remastererds are news then you did this job few time ago.

... :? why DTS stereo 768 lossy and not DVD-A dual-layer lossless ?!? :lol:

so, back to you again! :)


LOL !
Yep, Upsampled them all to 48 Khz....... and wanted as much people as possible to enjoy it. On DVDA it would be limited......
(want to add also that I work easier making menu's for DVD than for DVDA).
It also had an AC3 192 stream to be fully compatible.

I know it is lossy, but when people cannot hear the difference between 256 Kb MP3 and original stereo, they sure won't hear any difference on 768 !!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 7:42 pm 
Offline
Surround Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:19 pm
Posts: 139
Fantasia wrote:
spam Pioneer DVD(A)/SACD player.
now i know why you say that AC3-640k is not fully compatible(out of specs),
...most Pioneers can't play it.

Fantasia wrote:
LOL !
Yep, Upsampled them all to 48 Khz....... and wanted as much people as possible to enjoy it. On DVDA it would be limited......
i understand yours reasons.

Fantasia wrote:
(want to add also that I work easier making menu's for DVD than for DVDA).
yes!

Fantasia wrote:
(It also had an AC3 192 stream to be fully compatible.
believe, i never tested or used 192.

Fantasia wrote:
(I know it is lossy, but when people cannot hear the difference between 256 Kb MP3 and original stereo, they sure won't hear any difference on 768 !!
when people cannot hear... :|

cheers!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:42 am 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:40 am
Posts: 38
jorgeluiz wrote:
Fantasia wrote:
spam Pioneer DVD(A)/SACD player.
now i know why you say that AC3-640k is not fully compatible(out of specs),
...most Pioneers can't play it.


I wish that was the reason, but it was actually the Philips that didn't want to play it (and that one was three times as expensive as the Pioneer :o .) The Pioneer does ! But the Pioneer doesn't play PCM5.1 of which you were speaking.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 8:58 am 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:40 am
Posts: 38
Searched a bit :

http://www.digitalpreservation.gov/form ... 0209.shtml

Quoted from that article :

The maximum bitrate in the ATSC AC-3 specification is 640 kb/s. In DVD applications and in digital cable television, however, player and distribution limitations keep the maximum to 448 kb/s


In Wikipedia they don't even mention 640 or 512 and call 448 the highest possible..........


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 10:37 am 
Offline
Surround Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:19 pm
Posts: 139
thanks for the link and infos Fantasia.

i have news(for me) and maybe will be for you all too.

formats and sizes using 24/96 5.1 channels:
wave = 343MB
Flac = 194MB
MLP = 182MB. :o (was a surprise for me)
great as i will play from HD, is lossless and have short size.

oppinions are welcome!
:? how to decompress MLP if needed?!?

cheers!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:12 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 212
jorgeluiz wrote:
:? how to decompress MLP if needed?!?
I don't have the time to search in detail now, but you can google "decode mlp" and you will find a few solutions. Let us know.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 6:47 pm 
Offline
Surround Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:19 pm
Posts: 139
google "decode mlp" ? google is not so friendly.

was done and with others seamless words too.
lots was found, some are too outdateds and full of speculations/imaginations and too much links takes to MLP encoder.
some tricks can be used only when encoding MLP to recover later but need to save the file and more hd space is required, no big deal and don't know if really work.

seems that Foobar can decode MLP from HD, not sure.
someone can confirm or deny please? :)

ps: after my last post i did fast edit to write the question.
next time i will be more diligent writing more details even doing editions and wait for rights answers. was my fault, excuse! ;)

cheers!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:02 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 31
Though I have not yet tried it, you might want to look at:
Eac3to
( see this page for download link: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/eac3to )

Here's a "how to use" link:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Eac3to/How_to_Use

-----

Another option is DVD-A Ripper, PPCM Ripper and DVD-A Explorer (using PPCMRipper to demux .aob to .wav's), but you need WinDVD 6 or 7 for it to work (i think) ... The doom9 forum info is down right now, but here's a couple to try later: (read the entire threads before you begin ... many people had problems getting it to work, but it CAN be done!)

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=96860
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/lof ... 368-0.html

-----
Also note: Ripping non-encrypted .mlp (.aob) is easier than ripping encrypted .mlp (.aob) ... to determine if the content is encrypted, look at the file structure of the AUDIO_TS folder for a .mkb file (if there is .mkb file in the folder, then it is encrypted .aob content)

Jack


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 12:32 am 
Offline
Surround Addict
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:19 pm
Posts: 139
Jack,
i have eac3to installed and use to flacs only.

you're right about eac3to.
Quote:
Supported source formats:
(7) MLP, TrueHD, TrueHD/AC3

wow Jack, work perfectly!
:D
Code:
eac3to v3.17
command line: eac3to S.mlp Swav.wavs
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MLP, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 96khz
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Writing WAVs...
Creating file "Swav.L.wav"...
Creating file "Swav.R.wav"...
Creating file "Swav.C.wav"...
Creating file "Swav.LFE.wav"...
Creating file "Swav.SL.wav"...
Creating file "Swav.SR.wav"...
[libav] End of stream indicated  <WARNING>
The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
eac3to processing took 1 minute, 47 seconds.
Done.

doom9: you're right, have 3 or 4 days that i can't enter in forum.

thank you so much for links and hints :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 3:32 pm 
Offline
Stereo
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:28 am
Posts: 2
EAC3TO or MAKEMKV is what you need mate

i use it all the time to turn a 50GB bluray into an MKV with untouched VIDEO and AUDIO.

basically you will remux the video and audio into a new file.


for DTS-HD you can just mux the DTS core track.
for Tru-HD you can just mux the AC3 core track.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP POWERED_BY