SurroundByUs.com

A Stereo-to-Surround Community
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:54 am
  • No posting regarding file sharing of copyrighted material is allowed
  • AudioMuxer is here
  • Spec and SpecWeb are here
 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


The tools and techniques described and provided on this forum are intended for use on material owned by users and for their personal use as covered by "fair use" and other applicable copyright laws. The owners and moderators of this forum do not suggest or condone any violation of copyright or other applicable laws. Any use of these methods outside this forum in a manner which violates "fair use" or copyright is done so at the individual's own peril and is not the responsibility of surroundbyus.com.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:46 am 
Offline
Surround Fan

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:11 pm
Posts: 7
I have say around 150 songs in DTS Format.Audio Codec also DTS. All are DVD compliant 48KHZ, 755 Kbps. What I need to do is add 10 to 15 seconds of silence at the end ,that too in batches because adding one by one for 150 or more songs you know the pain.

What is the software available for batch editing I mean adding silence? There is specific purpose/reason which is must for me . If anybody want to know the reason I don't mind revealing it. No secret.

Need somebody to suggest solution for my issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:50 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
I've been waiting for the author of AudioMuxer to chime in but without input from him I'm not sure you can add/edit a dts stream, without decoded and re-encoding, which would be a lossy process.

Maybe you should share why you need this, in case there is a way around that issue.

Is it because your HT doesn't detect the DTS stream fast enough? What I have found in that case is to not mix DTS with non DTS songs. I have one library for surround and one for stereo.

Another approach, if you want to mix stereo and surround, is to encode your stereo with DTS (2 ch.) or upmix to 5.1 and encode. SpecWeb, offered here, gives a pretty push button upmix solution.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:47 am 
Offline
Surround Fan

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:11 pm
Posts: 7
Zeerround wrote:
I've been waiting for the author of AudioMuxer to chime in but without input from him I'm not sure you can add/edit a dts stream, without decoded and re-encoding, which would be a lossy process.

Maybe you should share why you need this, in case there is a way around that issue.

Is it because your HT doesn't detect the DTS stream fast enough? What I have found in that case is to not mix DTS with non DTS songs. I have one library for surround and one for stereo.

Another approach, if you want to mix stereo and surround, is to encode your stereo with DTS (2 ch.) or upmix to 5.1 and encode. SpecWeb, offered here, gives a pretty push button upmix solution.


As far as Audiomuxer is concerned you are right. It is not taking in these DTS files & decoding,re coding is not only lossy but time consuming process in my case of more than 200 Audio files.

Yah I can tell. Why I need this. In DVDLab Pro2 if you add DTS files (I say DTS only, AC3 ok) , all are 5.1 surround files of DVD compliant 48KHZ & 755 Kbps (if not similar even DVDLab Pro will not accept in single VTS) & compile at least 5 to 10 seconds of all songs are truncated & if you hear this in my Audio room this abrupt stoppage shake me out of my enjoyment.

I have checked in all forums & DVD lab Pro is not worried about this also. Hence if I add silence this will be cut & I can have my songs with right finish.

My problem is as above how to add silence for DTS 5.1 Audio. For stereo Audacity & so many softwares are there. But now I'm struck here.

Your 3rd point my HT is full fledged Denon AVR & no worry about detection.It is very well decoding & playing nicely. And your worry I never mix albums. Stereo seperate, AC3 sepearte, AAC seperate, even in DTS CD compliant & DVD compliant seperate & I'm enjoying all except this DVD compliant DTS. FYI somehow I love DTS than any other format & I don't want to convert original DTS to AC3 for which I have software & this solution is very easy & way around also this one but I need original DTS. That's my problem.

Anyhow try your level best to give me solution


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:23 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:32 pm
Posts: 330
Don't quite see a solution without re-encoding the DTS files.
I think one possible solution in DVDLab pro is not to load the songs one after each other, but to work with one large DTS with CUE/Chapter points. Maybe have a look at the guide here below. It shows you how this can be established using AudioMuxer to make your DVD and then import these VOBS in DVDLab Pro, adding the chapter points and some nice menu. Should work. Remember that you can only have 99 chapter points per track for DVD.
Code:
http://www.surroundbyus.com/sbu/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=608


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 2:44 am 
Offline
Surround Fan

Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 12:11 pm
Posts: 7
Pl4yitLOUD wrote:
Don't quite see a solution without re-encoding the DTS files.
I think one possible solution in DVDLab pro is not to load the songs one after each other, but to work with one large DTS with CUE/Chapter points. Maybe have a look at the guide here below. It shows you how this can be established using AudioMuxer to make your DVD and then import these VOBS in DVDLab Pro, adding the chapter points and some nice menu. Should work. Remember that you can only have 99 chapter points per track for DVD.
Code:
http://www.surroundbyus.com/sbu/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=608


Audiomuxer reencodes in 2 formats. Fixed dts of 48Khz DVD compliant & using my surcode one more 44 Khz CD compliant file. CD compliant I don't want to talk here because I'm dealing with DVD.

What is this fixed dts & my original dts. Both shows same details in mediainfo. ie. format & code as dts & 48 khz & 755 kbps. What it does in this re coding I don't get. Only this re coded file audio muxer accepts for video dvd compile & original it does not take.

Even this re coded one also if taken to lab pro it gets the same fate of truncation of 5 seconds.

I will try your suggested audio muxer route & will give feed back.Kindly clear my above queries till then. Audiomuxer itself would have have given menu creation.I don't know why?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 6:31 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:32 pm
Posts: 330
It does not really do any re-encoding. The "fixed" dts file is the source file with the zero padding removed. Surcode for example creates DTS files padded with zeros and these files are for most dvd authoring applications not compatible. For these compatibility reasons the padded zeros are being removed.
Hopefully you can make it work going the 1 large dts route.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP POWERED_BY