SurroundByUs.com

A Stereo-to-Surround Community
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:50 am
  • No posting regarding file sharing of copyrighted material is allowed
  • AudioMuxer is here
  • Spec and SpecWeb are here
 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


The tools and techniques described and provided on this forum are intended for use on material owned by users and for their personal use as covered by "fair use" and other applicable copyright laws. The owners and moderators of this forum do not suggest or condone any violation of copyright or other applicable laws. Any use of these methods outside this forum in a manner which violates "fair use" or copyright is done so at the individual's own peril and is not the responsibility of surroundbyus.com.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:38 pm 
Offline
Stereo

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:34 pm
Posts: 2
Hi all,

I was recommended to write a post here from a user over at quadraphonicquad.com

I have an AC3 of an album that I need to split into multiple channels so that I can import them into Final Cut Pro X (I can't import the AC3 as it doesn't accept that filetype in version X), I was wondering how I split the AC3 into multiple tracks.

ALSO

Is there a way to see if my AC3 is actually surround sound, without burning it to disc and playing it on the soundsystem?

Thanks for the help,
Sam


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 3:08 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:32 pm
Posts: 330
For windows, you can use AudioMuxer to split the AC3 file using a CUE file. Load the AC3 file in the main panel, select the "Rename" option which will automatically select as well the "split in files" option, hit then the "CUE Split" button and select the CUE file that you want to use to split the AC3 file. Wait a few seconds and the new AC3 files will be renamed using the Album/Track information found in the CUE file. Done!

Again for windows, you can install Foobar together with the AC3 Decoder. Play the AC3 file and then select View/Visualizations and the VU Meter. This will show the channels that are active in the AC3 file.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 5:14 am 
Offline
Stereo

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 4:34 pm
Posts: 2
I've found quite a few ways that look possible on PC, but lucky for me, I happen to be using Mac! ha - do you know of a way to do it on Mac?

By the way

I now also have a DVD with all of the audio 5.1 mixed on there, I have the VOB file, is there a way to perhaps turn this into the multiple channel audio?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:19 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
It is (or at least was) possible to run foobar on an intel mac:

http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/ind ... =77261&hl=

I had tested that sometime back but haven't looked at it since Lion. That is pretty much a windows environment so it might be possible to add audiomuxer once you have foobar working.

Of course, the more traditional ways of running windows on an intel mac are also an option.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP POWERED_BY