SurroundByUs.com

A Stereo-to-Surround Community
It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:17 am
  • No posting regarding file sharing of copyrighted material is allowed
  • AudioMuxer is here
  • Spec and SpecWeb are here
 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


The tools and techniques described and provided on this forum are intended for use on material owned by users and for their personal use as covered by "fair use" and other applicable copyright laws. The owners and moderators of this forum do not suggest or condone any violation of copyright or other applicable laws. Any use of these methods outside this forum in a manner which violates "fair use" or copyright is done so at the individual's own peril and is not the responsibility of surroundbyus.com.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 5:45 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 34
Hi. I've used prior versions just fine. Plogue trial expired. A new version was downloaded today. At this point I have Plogue version 0.9736 32 bit, SPEC 4.86.
But when I opened the software it shows all modules in red. So, something is wrong. I uninstalled and re downloaded, restarted the PC. Same problem.
Why are they red? How do I correct this?
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 7:17 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 34
After ununstalling and reinstalling and cleaning up registry now there are no red modules anymore.
But now I have another problem. No mono files are created and there is no processing happening and Z Player Recorder Monitor isnt showing jumping meters.. Audio File Player progress bar is moving and time is changing, so it is playing the file. All modules are "Processing" not bypassed or muted. The "On" bottom in top right corner is on, so the software should be processing and outputting the 6 mono files. The file name and output folder are specified.
What is wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 7:47 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 34
I dont know if this will helpt troubleshooting, but there are two bidules supplied in SPEC Layouts folder. SPEC4.86_ZAG_3.0-Release has this problem. The other one SPEC4.86-Simple does not.
I can create the 6 mono files with Simple bidule just fine. But the release one - the Spec 4.86 module , I cannot adjust gain for any of the channels (they are at 0) and the knob that has all processing modes like Arctan and Slice is not movable.
Please help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 7:52 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
BrugioBuoanarotti wrote:
After ununstalling and reinstalling and cleaning up registry now there are no red modules anymore.
But now I have another problem. No mono files are created and there is no processing happening and Z Player Recorder Monitor isnt showing jumping meters.. Audio File Player progress bar is moving and time is changing, so it is playing the file. All modules are "Processing" not bypassed or muted. The "On" bottom in top right corner is on, so the software should be processing and outputting the 6 mono files. The file name and output folder are specified.
What is wrong?


The Red modules could come from forgetting to use the "P2" icon vs. the regular Plogue Bidule icon. Also if you hadn't installed the plugins correctly (the installer should do that for you).

You say all modules are processing, but you also say Z Player Recorder isn't. I'm confused. ZPlayer is an alternate way to play files, just during setup, it isn't meant to be used during actual conversion and that's why it's normally muted.

You can right click on any module and select "monitor" to see audio meters on all inputs and outputs. That should show you where the audio is stopping.

Please double click on the "Layout Control" bidule and check to see that the recorder is Armed. The other controls in there should be off/unchecked. If the recorder is not armed, nothing will record, which matches your symptoms.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 8:29 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 34
Zeerround wrote:
BrugioBuoanarotti wrote:
After ununstalling and reinstalling and cleaning up registry now there are no red modules anymore.
But now I have another problem. No mono files are created and there is no processing happening and Z Player Recorder Monitor isnt showing jumping meters.. Audio File Player progress bar is moving and time is changing, so it is playing the file. All modules are "Processing" not bypassed or muted. The "On" bottom in top right corner is on, so the software should be processing and outputting the 6 mono files. The file name and output folder are specified.
What is wrong?


The Red modules could come from forgetting to use the "P2" icon vs. the regular Plogue Bidule icon. Also if you hadn't installed the plugins correctly (the installer should do that for you).

You say all modules are processing, but you also say Z Player Recorder isn't. I'm confused. ZPlayer is an alternate way to play files, just during setup, it isn't meant to be used during actual conversion and that's why it's normally muted.

You can right click on any module and select "monitor" to see audio meters on all inputs and outputs. That should show you where the audio is stopping.

Please double click on the "Layout Control" bidule and check to see that the recorder is Armed. The other controls in there should be off/unchecked. If the recorder is not armed, nothing will record, which matches your symptoms.


Thank you. I chose monitor from top to bottom. The meters stop after SPEC 4.6. For this module there is only ONE indicator that is on (channel 7), and it is all the way up, even red. Its is completely lit up even when there is nothing playing! It is not dancing, just lit up from green to red, even the clipping red dot on top.

About Layout COntrol. It shows "Mode" = "Processing". There is no option for recorder or armed. All drop downs are empty, nothing is checked. How do I checked this "armed" option.

Also like I mentioned above please note that the SPEC_4.6-Simple bidule works fine, and it just this full one has a problem. SPEC module seems to be locked or something.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 8:49 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 34
Interesting. Layout Control in the simple version of SPEC DOES show Recording = Armed. But the full version has nothing. No drop down, no armed - just blank everything.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 9:09 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 34
SPEC 4.85 works fine. Both simple and full bidules. 4.86 has a dead spec module. I hope it is just me. Is it?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2014 8:42 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
The 7th output of spec is the latency in samples, so yes the meter will be "pegged". That is normal.

I downloaded and checked the layout, no issues here.

In the Spec control panel is the ArcTan LED on? In any case try changing the method knob as it seems like the internals of Spec are muted (a method not selected). What version of Plogue is this?

The blank layout control is really strange. Maybe your layout is corrupt and you should download again and just open the layout from the "layouts" folder in the download (vs. running the installer again).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2014 8:59 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
re-reading all your posts there is definitely something messed up in the "full" layout (your copy) as many of the symptoms you describe are not anything that can normally happen unless the layout is corrupted.

Since I downloaded a fresh copy and tested OK with 0.9736, it does seem like you should do the same.

Very odd...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2014 9:21 am 
Offline
Surround Junkie

Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 34
Zeerround wrote:
re-reading all your posts there is definitely something messed up in the "full" layout (your copy) as many of the symptoms you describe are not anything that can normally happen unless the layout is corrupted.

Since I downloaded a fresh copy and tested OK with 0.9736, it does seem like you should do the same.

Very odd...


I kind of gave up yesterday and just used the 4.85 version. It worked fine with new Plogue version (so did the SImple bidule supplied with 4.86 version of SPEC). But after your post this morning I re-downloaded 4.86 version and all is well. Layout COntrol has everything, conversion methods knob is turnable. I have not converted anything yet with the freshly downloaded SPEC but I am 100% sure it will work fine.

So, thank you for your continuous support.
While I have your attention, Is there a way to automatically load all files from a folder instead of song after song manually?

Also, what is new in version 4.86?

Thanks you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP POWERED_BY