SurroundByUs.com

A Stereo-to-Surround Community
It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:13 pm
  • No posting regarding file sharing of copyrighted material is allowed
  • AudioMuxer is here
  • Spec and SpecWeb are here
 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


The tools and techniques described and provided on this forum are intended for use on material owned by users and for their personal use as covered by "fair use" and other applicable copyright laws. The owners and moderators of this forum do not suggest or condone any violation of copyright or other applicable laws. Any use of these methods outside this forum in a manner which violates "fair use" or copyright is done so at the individual's own peril and is not the responsibility of surroundbyus.com.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:31 pm 
Offline
Surroundaholic

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:16 am
Posts: 52
OK, I have a VST that's suppose to have a latency of 4096 samples. How reliable is that? Because I noticed that on VST's that do have a latency pin, if I connect one of these to 'Normalization' or 'Recording Gate & Sync' and then look at the latency there, it's never such a round figure.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 2:08 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
The only way to tell would be to measure, or check for phase errors.

I'm thinking if vst authors provide the pin, they now they can change the latency dynamically. If they don't provide a pin I would think they need to stick to a fixed and published number of samples.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:02 pm 
Offline
Surroundaholic

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:16 am
Posts: 52
Makes sense, I will just add the value and see how it goes.

O, as for the Ozone VST, you may notice when you first load it in Plogue that there is no latency pin, that appears after you actually ran it in a mode that adds latency. But only if you copy/paste that same instance of Ozone!

Hope you understand what I'm saying? So you add the Ozone VST > no latency pin, then you run it, copy/paste the thing and on the one you just pasted in your layout you find that there suddenly is a latency pin! Very weird...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:16 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
Blake71 wrote:
Makes sense, I will just add the value and see how it goes.

O, as for the Ozone VST, you may notice when you first load it in Plogue that there is no latency pin, that appears after you actually ran it in a mode that adds latency. But only if you copy/paste that same instance of Ozone!

Hope you understand what I'm saying? So you add the Ozone VST > no latency pin, then you run it, copy/paste the thing and on the one you just pasted in your layout you find that there suddenly is a latency pin! Very weird...


Suggest you post about that on plogue.com. It's possible that it can be fixed on the plogue side.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:40 pm 
Offline
Surroundaholic

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:16 am
Posts: 52
Maybe, but to me it looks more like something specific to Ozone. If you run it as DC filter only for instance (which doesn't add latency), there will be no latency pin when you do the copy/paste trick. I've never seen that happen in any other VST, although I always check the one's I use for the first time since I noticed this (by accident) in Ozone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:31 am 
Offline
Stereo

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:00 pm
Posts: 2
Hello. I'm a real noob to all this. Have heard some of the conversions done with SPEC and am impressed. Thinking I may wish to try some on my own I was reading through the guides. I came upon a "broken" link in this guide. At the bottom, the link "Monitoring Surround on your PC" leads to a password protected page: http://www.surroundbyus.com/ubs/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=269
Thanks for all your fine work - especially AudioMuxer which I am using with a few other tools to change formats from DVD-A and other multichannel sources to stream to my Roku player via the Plex media Server.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:48 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
OK will track that down. Thanks.

Be aware that some of the guides are outdated by newer software and updated parts of SPEC. The guide that comes with SPEC IS accurate, however.

Z


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:57 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
The correct link is: http://www.surroundbyus.com/sbu/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3

fixing now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:57 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
The correct link is: http://www.surroundbyus.com/sbu/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3

fixing now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 2:22 pm 
Offline
Stereo

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:00 pm
Posts: 2
Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP POWERED_BY