SurroundByUs.com

A Stereo-to-Surround Community
It is currently Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:21 pm
  • No posting regarding file sharing of copyrighted material is allowed
  • AudioMuxer is here
  • Spec and SpecWeb are here
 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules


The tools and techniques described and provided on this forum are intended for use on material owned by users and for their personal use as covered by "fair use" and other applicable copyright laws. The owners and moderators of this forum do not suggest or condone any violation of copyright or other applicable laws. Any use of these methods outside this forum in a manner which violates "fair use" or copyright is done so at the individual's own peril and is not the responsibility of surroundbyus.com.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 7:50 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:24 am
Posts: 32
After solving a wiring mystery, I now have 5.1 working on the motherboard.
The next mystery is that I only got Dolby 5.1 to work. Zero sound for DTS.
I'm testing with Trilogy - ELP - DVD. Using Windows Media Player.
I might download VLC or some other player? Could be a setting in the receiver. Could be a setting in Windows?
So far, the only sound manager I've interfaced with seems to be the native one you get to by right-clicking the speaker icon.
Not sure how to interface with the realtek sound manager/driver? Or if that's possible?
Anyway, One Little Victory!


Last edited by edisonbaggins on Thu Aug 27, 2015 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:11 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:24 am
Posts: 32
Last update of the evening:

downloaded ac3filter codec and vlc player
now able to play DTS track from Trilogy
next mystery: DVD packaging says MLP Lossless 5.1 is an option, but I don't even see it in the audio options menu - DTS 5.1 is the best option...
maybe it doesn't show options your player can't play?
Gonna stick the dvd in my OPPO and see what happens.
Soon I will try to test a 192k source!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 6:51 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:24 am
Posts: 32
I can confirm that, when I play Trilogy with my OPPO, the choice for MLP Lossless 5.1 shows up and plays correctly.
When I tried playing with VLC on Win 7 the choice didn't show up.
Based on some Googling I'll try Foobar2000 and if that doesn't work maybe some additional codecs will help?
Is MLP Lossless 5.1 possible on Windows?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:56 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
I'm not the expert on this, but the author of AudioMuxer is so hopefully he will chime in.

Two things I believe will work, Total Media Theater, the version I mentioned, or, you can extract the audio with audio muxer and play the multichannel file, and yes I recommend foobar2000 as a player.

I don't recommend downloading a lot of software and/or codecs to get other players to work.

Did you ever determine if your Mother board audio solution can playback 5.1 @ 192KHz?

Windows-->sound control panel --> Realteck High Definition Audio --> Properties --> advanced. Mine does list 192Khz 24 bit so hopefully your's does too. I don't have anything plugged in there now so cant test.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:20 pm 
Offline
Surround Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:24 am
Posts: 32
24-bit, 192k!!!
But maybe that is only stereo?
Like, I believe that's a limitation of S/PDIF, but we're talkin' spam here, right?
I have downloaded FB2k and AudioMux.
Tried opening the DVD in FB2K, but don't know what I'm doing and it's bedtime!
Will try more tomorrow.
:?:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:45 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 7:01 am
Posts: 656
FB2k is strictly audio. You'll need to extract the audio streams from your DVD/BluRay before you can play them in foobar.

Total Media Theater is the solution if you want to playback DVD/Bluray with all the decoders available. Just be sure the version is no higher than what I posted.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 8:58 am 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:32 pm
Posts: 330
Your DVD is actually a DVD-Audio (including a Video part so that it can play on normal DVD players). Your Oppo will read the actual Audio_ts part of the DVD and there it is standard to have a lossless MLP format. A normal DVD Player (not capable of playing DVD-Audio) will read only the Video_ts part and in your case you'll find there a lossy DTS stream. VLC and alike will also pick up the Video_ts part, hence playing back the DTS stream.

Now if you have Foobar, you'll need to install the DVD-Audio Decoder component such that you can playback the MLP stream, otherwise it will also play the standard DTS stream (once the right component is installed).
DVD-Audio Decoder component can be found here:
Code:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/dvdadecoder/
(Copy/paste link in your browser since we cannot use direct links on this forum)
Instructions: Open Foobar and go to File/Preferences, then click the Install button and point it to the zip file you have just downloaded from the link here above. Now click on the Apply button and the DVD-Audio Decoder component should be installed.
To properly decode DTS in Foobar you'll need to install the DTS component which you can find here:
Code:
http://www.foobar2000.org/components/view/foo_input_dts
There are also decoders for AC3, SACD and so on...
Have fun ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 9:18 am 
Offline
Surround Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:24 am
Posts: 32
Zeerround wrote:
Total Media Theater is the solution if you want to playback DVD/Bluray with all the decoders available. Just be sure the version is no higher than what I posted.


I found that exact version in somebody's public google drive, of all places.
I'm on a 15-day trial. If I like it, I hope it's not too expensive.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 9:26 am 
Offline
Surround Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 6:24 am
Posts: 32
So far, TMT is showing the same audio options as WMP and VLC.
Is it still looking at the DVD-V layer? I notice the DVD-Video logo in the bottom left corner.
Is there a trick to point it at the DVD-A layer?
Also, is it possible the DVD or BD burners have limitations affecting this? Or will they do whatever the software tells them to?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:11 pm 
Offline
SBU Wiki Team
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 3:32 pm
Posts: 330
I do not think that TMT can read DVD-Audio and play MLP. TMT is more used to play Blu-ray and normal DVDs (DVD-Video).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP POWERED_BY